## Report 2016-17

Faculty Convenor: Ms. Sanam Khanna

**Student President: Nishtha Gupta** 

The students of the English Debating Society achieved laurels in a number of tournaments over the last year. They debated and adjudicated at competitions such as Shanti Narayan Memorial Parliamentary Debate (Hansraj College), KMC Fresher's Debate Tournament, People Speak (Sri Venkateswara College), Wax Eloquent (Gargi College), GGS Fresher's and, IIT-Delhi among others, in the months of January and February 2016. An outstation tournament at BITS Pillani, in February 2016, proved to be successful with Sheen Kaul, Shambhavi Shukla, Anushka Srivastva, Ayushi Saraf and Nishtha Gupta as adjudicators in the finals.

In the month of March, Surabhi Dutt, a third year student of Economics, won the Best Adjudicator Award at Manzar (Miranda House) as well as at Indraprastha College for Women. Taniya Goel won the Third Best Adjuducator Award at Gargi College. Nishtha Gupta, the President of the Society, adjudicated the finals at IIT-Delhi and at LSR Parliamentary Debate Tournament. Pallavi Khare adjudicated the Semi Finals at ProAm (Stephen's College) and won the IIT-Delhi Parliamentary Debate Tournament with Srishti Vasudeva, the former President of the Society. In the month of April, Shambhavi Shukla won the Fifth Best Adjudicator Award at LSR Parliamentary Debate Tournament and the Second Best Adjudicator Award at KMC Fresher's as well as IIT-Delhi. Anushka Srivastava won the Third Best Adjudicator Prize at the Shri Ram Debating Festival.

The next session at Crossfire, started with auditions to welcome the new batch of debators and a subsequent training session with Simple Rajrah (ex convenor of Crossfire), who is currently a student of International Relations at JNU. In September, Mridu Choudhary and Anushka Srivastava won the Second Prize at Tashi (LSR Conventional). Mridu also won the Best Speaker at the St. Stephen's College conventional debate. During October and November, Drishti Rastogi and Sanya adjudicated the Quarter Finals and Finals, respectively, at People Speak - debate tournament of Sri Venkateswara College. Two teams of three: Smriti, Anushka, Ayushi and Shruti, Mridu, Tanya, respectively, also broke at the People Speak. Sheen Kaul, also broke at KMC Freshers Tournament. Stuti Verma, Ananya Agarwal and Kanica Sharma debated in the same event. Shruti Appalla, Mridu Choudhary and Smriti Gupta also adjudicated at GGS Fresher's while Ekta Golchha, Ashtha Gupta and Ipshita Sharma debated broke in to the Quarter Finals. In January, at Credibles, a conventional debate competition, Shruti Appalla won Best Speaker award and Nishtha Gupta won the Best Team award. Ayushi Sarraf won the Third Best Adjudicator at Shanti Narayan Memorial Parliamentary Debate (Hansraj College). Tanya Chhatwal debated at both the previously mentioned tournaments. Ashulipi Singhal and Deepali Sharma adjudicated at GGS Fresher's and IIT-Delhi Fresher's Debate Tournament.