## **CROSSFIRE (ENGLISH DEBATING SOCIETY) ANNUAL REPORT 2021**

Two unusual years spent against the backdrop of a pandemic and a turnover in the definition of 'normal', have exposed the world to a fair share of battles to fight. For the academic youth at large, it's been a creative block or obstacles to communication via screens.

In an attempt to break the monotony and help ease a time as strenuous as this, Crossfire - The Debating Society of Kamala Nehru College conducted its Annual Event of the Conventional Debate on 10 July'21; Saturday. Deeming it essential to create a healthy space for conversation and engagement within students, with a knack for debating, the event was thematized as "Communitarianism in Post Pandemic World".

A zealous participation of over 25 teams and 50 attendees was witnessed. The online debating rooms were an absolute treat to be a part of, with several groundbreaking speeches and pieces of knowledge to grasp!

Affirming the success of the event was a highly esteemed and respected panel of judges; Ms. Gaganjot Kaur, a prominent member of the Philosophy Department and Ms. Monami Sinha, a reputed professor from the Economics background were kind enough to grace the event with their presence. Alongside them, Khushi Monga and Shweta Goel, diligent and experienced debaters added notable significance to the panel and decision making.

Having spent considerable effort and thought by the speakers on the topic the winners of the event were under the categories of Best Team, Best Speaker For the Motion, Best Speaker Against the Motion and Best Interjector. Ms. Monica from Kirorimal College, DU earned herself the title of the Best Speaker FOR the motion while Batool Kamry, a student of Lady Shri Ram College, DU won as the Best Speaker AGAINST the motion! Further, Aayush Bermola and Kathan Parmar from Delhi College of Arts and Commerce (DCAC) with their admirable teamwork, were awarded as the Best Team. Lastly, making the speeches even more interactive with their interjections, Eshitva from Sri Venkateshwara College, DU bagged the prize of the Best Interjector!

The society also participated and baggded multiple prizes in various debating events throughout the year. Some of these included: Pearl Parliamentary Debate 2021, Motilal Nehru Memorial Parliamentary Debate 2021, Navitas'21, NIT Durgapur Parliamentary Debate'21, 73rd Mukarji Memorial Debate 2021, Indian Womxn's Debating Championship, SBSPD'21, Wax Eloquent, Gargi'21.

The society will host the annual Parliamentary debating event MUNAAZRAH 2021 in the month of October 2021.

## List of winners and positions in various debating tournaments:

- Diya Shillin bagged the first position at the **Pearl Parliamentary Debate 2021** with a cross team.
- Anshu Priya, Srishti Ghulani and Surabhi Menon did us proud by winning the **Motilal Nehru Memorial Parliamentary Debate 2021**! They were also declared 4th, 5th and 6th best speakers, respectively. Arushi Gupta and Khushi Monga, 2 freshers also broke as Adjudicators and went on to adjudicate till Quarterfinals and Semifinals, respectively.
- Team of Diya Shillin, Surabhi Menon and Smarika Kakar were the finalists at Navitas'21
  wherein Diya and Surabhi were declared as 3rd and 7th best speakers, respectively!
- Anshu Priya, Nandini Chaturvedi and Srishti Ghulani went on till the finals at the NIT Durgapur Parliamentary Debate'21. Adding to the pride, Anshu bagged the 3rd best speaker rank and Srishti was ranked the 10th best speaker.
- A Fresher Team of Shweta Goel, Sia Ahuja and Tavishi Duggal proved their mettle by becoming the finalists at the **73rd Mukarji Memorial Debate** 2021. Shweta was also declared one of the best speakers at the tournament.
- The beaming duo of Surabhi Menon and Smarika Kakar achieved a finalist position at their very first British Parliamentary Debate at Indian Womxn's Debating Championship. Ishi Shrivastava also broke as an Adjudicator and judged the debates till the Novice Semifinals!
   Smarika Kakar and Surabhi Menon once again aced a British Parliamentary Debate at SBSPD'21. They also bagged the ranks of 12th and 6th best speakers respectively.
- The pair of Srishti Ghulani and Anshu Priya made a mark as Quarterfinalists at Wax Eloquent, Gargi'21 with Anshu as the 5th best speaker. Riddha, a fresher also broke as an Adjudicator to the Semifinals!
- Nandini Chaturvedi, Diya Shillin and Smarika Kakar went on till the Quarterfinals of Premchand'21 with Diya also winning the 11th best speaker rank.
- The Fresher Team of Arundhati Agomacharyya, Nishtha Singh and Diksha Navani emerged as the Quarter Finalists at a tournament held by Kirori Mal College in 2021. Diksha and Arundhati
- were also declared the 15th best speakers. Diya Shillin went on to Adjudicate till the Quarterfinals and Shreya Maheshwary, a fresher also broke as an Adjudicator!
- The Fresher Team of Navya Yadav, Anjana Pillai and Soumya Kamra went on till the quarterfinals of **SDSMMPD'21** organized by Dyal Singh College. Soumya was also ranked as the 4th best speaker at the tournament. Surabhi Menon won as the 3rd best Adjudicator!
- Diya Shillin and Muskan Goswami broke as Pre-Quarter Finalists at **Vitark 2021** wherein Muskan was ranked the 10th best speaker. Nandini Chaturvedi broke as an Adjudicator and went on till the Semifinals!

- A Fresher Team of Sreelakshmi, Nishtha Singh and Shreya Maheshwary debated till the PreQuarter Finals of **LSR Freshers'21**.
- At the Adjudication front solely, Shivani Dadhwal bagged the Best Invited Adjudicator position at Speak Up 9.0 and Diya Shillin (Finals), Khushboo Pandey (Semifinals) and Shreya Agarwal (Octafinals) broke as Adjudicators.
- Ishi Shrivastava broke as the 3rd Best Adjudicator at Alfaaz'21.
- Shweta Goel, a Fresher broke as the 6th Best Adjudicator at **Axiom'21** and went on till the Finals while Shreya Maheshwary also broke as the 8th best Adjudicator and went on till the Semifinals. Nandini Chaturvedi too broke as an Adjudicator!
- Shreya Agarwal, Khushboo Pandey, Diya Shillin broke as adjudicators and Shivani Dadhwal was awarded as the Best Invited Adjudicator at the **GGS Freshers Tournament**.
- The team of Shreya, Samridhi, Navya broke 16th on tabs & Surabhi, Anshu, Srishti were the finalists at **Polemic'21** hosted by Ramjas College. Arushi broke as an adjudicator!
- Surabhi, in a cross team, broke 11th on tabs and Khushi Monga, Riya Mehlawat broke as adjudicators at **Rahat'21**.
- The duo of Surabhi and Anshu broke 15th on tabs at the British Parliamentary Debate hosted by **NLUO** in 2021.
- The Debating Tournament hosted by **Daulat Ram College** in 2021 witnessed the team of Srishti, Anshu and Muskan break 12th on tabs. Anjana Pillai broke as an adjudicator!
- Diksha Navani broke as an adjudicator at the Shiv Nadar University Parliamentary Debate of 2021.
- Shreya Maheshwary and Sreelakshmi Sajeev broke 8th on tabs, Anjana Pillai and Navya Yadav broke 23rd on tabs at **Pearl Parliamentary Debate'21**.
- Sia Ahuja and Arundhati Agomacharyya broke as adjudicators while Srishti Ghulani proved her mettle as a Subsidised Adjudicator at NLUJ'21. Surabhi Menon with a cross team was a finalist!
- Surabhi Menon aced the **Wolce Pre Asians 2021** with her cross team of Deepansh Jawrani and Narayan Sharma till the Pre-Semis!

It has been a year of immense pride and success for the English Debating Society of Kamala Nehru College and the journey has been nothing short of miraculous.