Report 2015

Faculty Convenor: Sanam Khanna

Student Convenors: Shreya Deora and Raveesha Gupta

March 2015 saw Crossfire- the English Debating Society of Kamala Nehru College hosting its first ever Annual Parliamentary Debate Tournament, Munaazrah. The tournament spanned over 3 days from $21^{st} - 23^{rd}$ March 2015 and saw participation of teams from all over India, debating on issues having contemporary relevance. The college played hosts to about 300 students, including out-station teams from institutions such as National Law Institute, Bhopal and Ram Manohar Lohia National Law University, Lucknow.

The tournament was a great success as it saw some of the most experienced speakers and adjudicators of the circuit participate, resulting in extremely engaging and stimulating debates over a plethora of interesting issues. The level of competition exhibited in the tournament was exceptional, leading to the best of teams battling it out to see who the winner will be. The total prize money handed out to the winning teams and adjudicators was worth 2 lakh rupees. The tournament wouldn't have been successful without the constant support and motivation of both, our college and our teachers. Overall, the experience was memorable and enriching for our debating society. Both, the society and the college were praised by the participants and the audience for pulling-off the tournament wonderfully in its maiden run.

Many of our students achieved laurels in various debating events. They debated and adjudicated at competitions such as- Nirma University Debate Tournmament, KMC Fresher's Debate Tournament, People Speak (Venkateshwara College), Gambit (SRCC Fresher's Debate Tournament) GGS Fresher's Debate Tournament, IIT Delhi's Fresher's Debate Tournament, 'ProAm' (St. Stephen's Fresher's Debate Tournament), Hindu Conventional Debate and Gargi Conventional Debate.

Srishti Vasudeva, a third-year student of Journalism won the Best adjudicator award at 'Shanti' – Hansraj College's Parliamentary Debate Tournament as well as at Lady Shri Ram's Parliamentary Debate Tournament. She also won the 2nd Best Adjudicator award at 'ProAm' (St. Stephen's Fresher's Debate Tournament) and was the 3nd Best Adjudicator at 'Kremlin' (Jesus and Mary College's Parliamentary Debate), NIRMA University (Ahmedabad) and at National Law University (Delhi). Tanya Chhatwal won Ist prize at St. Stephens Conventional Debate whereas Sanya Chopra was declared the best opposition speaker. Shreya Tyagi won the second best adjudicator prize at IIT-D Fresher's Debate Tournament. Surabhi Dutt, Shreya Tyagi, and Pallavi Khare debated in the competitions organised at Nirma University, while Drishti Rastogi, Arushi Pathak, and Taniya Goyal adjudicated in the same event. Some students who adjudicated at KMC Fresher's Debate Tournament are – Surabhi Dutt, Drishti Rastogi, Arushi Pathak, and Pallavi Khare; Sanya Chopra, Smriti Gupta, Shambhavi Shukla, Mridu Chaudhary, Anushka Srivastava, and Tanya Chhatwal debated in the same event. Nishtha Gupta debated at Great Debate Prelims and adjudicated at Gambit (SRCC Fresher's Debate Tournament). Tanvi Sethi, Shruti Gupta and Ashulipi Singhal adjudicated at GGS Fresher's Debate Tournament. Souparnika Krishnan adjudicated at

IIT Delhi's Fresher's Debate Tournament and debated at 'ProAm' (St. Stephen's Fresher's Debate Tournament). Sheen Kaul debated at People's Speak, (Venkateshwara College), and Deepali and Mariam Siddiqui adjudicated in the event. Shruti Appalla and Mridu Chaudhary debated at GGS Fresher's Tournament and at Gambit (SRCC Fresher's Debate Tournament). Manasi Yadav debated at GGS Fresher's Debate Tournament and at IIT-D Fresher's Debate Tournament.